Tag Archives: aussicht

P1900860

Flying over the Maldives

Some attractions start before you even get there. So was my trip to the Maldives last week. I was on the plane approaching the islands (there are 1196 of them) after a loooong flight via Istanbul with Turkish Airlines, looked out of the window and was just: Wow. Doesn´t matter what is expecting me on the next few days, this view has already been worth the whole trip. The stewardesses were not strict at all and let me switch seats during the landing all the time, so I could take some nice shots I would like to share with you. P1900751P1900772P1900796P1900815P1900837P1900827P1900860 - Arbeitskopie 2P1900860P1900887P1900892P1900869P1900897We landed near Malé. It is the capital with the biggest population per qm (75000 inhabitans on 5,8 qkm) of the world. You will recognize this island from the plane as soon as you see it because it doesn´t fit into the landscape at all. The are boats going to Malé and other near islands on the opposite side of the airport exit but I had to take another domestic flight of 1,5 hours to get to “my island”. The Robinson Club Maldives is located near the island of Kaadedhdhoo, which is 400 km far away from Malé (even Sri Lanka is closer). And for the first time of my life I was happy about an extra flight – because it meant even more air pictures for me!P1900918P1900931P1910069P1900943P1900987P1910019P1910063P1910060P1910070P1910074P1910079Another 30 min on a boat and I was finally there. In my princess beach bungalow with my princess bed and my princess bathroom – located in the garden and all open.P1910109P1910115P1910118P1910117P1910124P1910128I took some minutes to watch the sunset from “my beach” and then had a shower under the stars. Not too bad for the first day almost spent on the plane…

gardena

Amano Roof: Summer Drinks

It´s weekend, it´s pretty hot almost everywhere and I´m sure you are thirsty. A good place in Berlin to cool down is Amano Roof, a bar located on the top of Amano Hotel with a great view over Berlin. If you live somewhere else, you can still try some of their delicious virgin summer drinks at home. Scroll down for the recipes and feel free to add alcohol! It´s weekend…P1510536P1510504P1510487WATERMELON GARDEN
What you will need: 2 big watermelon slices, basil branch, half a lemon, 2 cl elderflower syrup, soda. Muddle the watermelon and mix it with minced basil, freshly squeezed lemon juice and syrup. Shake it well in a shaker. Strain the cocktail into a tall glas and add some soda.P1510515P1510561fernsehturmP1510527JERRY BERRY
What you will need: a handful raspberries and blueberries, half a lime, mint branch, 1 tsp sugar, ginger ale. Cut the lime in slices and muddle it together with berries, sugar and mint. Add ice cubes and fill up with ginger ale.

P1680871

Over the Rooftops: Riga Terrace

There ist one thing I always do when I come back to Riga, my hometown. No matter the weather I go up to Terrace Riga, a rooftop bar located on the 8th floor of the Galleria Riga Mall (10 min walk from the Old Town) and watch the sun go down over the city. Sure the are some higher places to do that. For example the Skyline Bar (26th floor) at Radisson Blue Hotel (also on the pictures). But since Riga isn´t the city with the highest buildings in the world I think the Terrace Riga is just perfect for that. I could spend there hours watching the sky getting painted in so many different colours and the lights going up. I always try to stay till it´s completely dark and they start bringing you blankets. Another good thing about this place: you will always find a table. The terrace has 4 bars, 600 seats and is the biggest in Baltic States. So, no need to make a reservation!P1680803P1680918P1680855P1680812P1680869P1680891P1680861P16809461085465_10151551895212097_1350851708_nP1680853P1680952P1680965P16809281147951_10151551891917097_84711319_nP1680978Flights to Riga: airBaltic.

Tag Archives: aussicht

P1900860

Über den Malediven

Manche Sehenswürdigkeiten beginnen, bevor man überhaupt am Urlaubsort angekommen ist. Bei meinem Flug auf die Malediven (1196 Inseln) letzte Woche dachte ich nur: Wow, alleine für diese Aussicht hat sich der Tomatensaft von Turkish Airlines schon gelohnt. Zum Glück waren die Stewardessen nicht so streng und ich durfte selbst bei Landung von Fenster zu Fenster hüpfen und Fotos machen.P1900751P1900772P1900796P1900815P1900837P1900827P1900860 - Arbeitskopie 2P1900860P1900887P1900892P1900869P1900897Man landet neben Malé und wie es schon aus dem Flieger schnell deutlich wird, ist sie die am dichtesten besiedelte Hauptstadt der Welt (75000 Einwohner auf 5,8 Quadratkilometern). Gegenüber dem Flughafen-Ausgang ist auch gleich der Bootssteg für Fahrten nach Malé und die benachbarten Urlaubs-Inseln. Ich musste aber noch einen Inlandsflug nach Kaadedhdhoo nehmen. “Meine Insel”, der Robinson Club Malediven, ist nämlich weiter von Malé entfernt (ca. 400 Kilometer) als Sri Lanka. Der nette Nebeneffekt: mehr Fotos. Und eine zusätzliche Sightseeing-Tour, die mit dem Helikopter sonst viel Geld kostet. P1900918P1900931P1910069P1900943P1900987P1910019P1910063P1910060P1910070P1910074P1910079Nach weiteren 30 Minuten Bootsfahrt war ich endlich da: In meinem Strand-Bungalow mit meinem Prinzessinnen-Bett und meinem Prinzessinnen-Bad mitten im Garten. P1910109P1910115P1910118P1910117P1910124P1910128Noch schnell den hundertsten Sonnenuntergang fotografieren (was soll ich machen…) und dann unter dem Sternehimmel duschen. So fühlt sich also Liebe an, die an einem beschlagenen Flugzeug-Fenster beginnt…

gardena

Amano Dachterrasse: Sommerdrinks

Es ist Wochenende, es ist heiß und ich wette, ihr habt Durst. Ein guter Ort zum Abkühlen ist in Berlin die Amano Dachterrasse, eine Bar auf dem Dach des Amano Hotels in Mitte. Wenn ihr nicht aus Berlin seid: Der Barkeeper hat mir ein paar Rezepte von seinen Sommerdrinks verraten. Als Virgin-Edition. Fühlt euch frei nach 12 eure Lieblingsspirituose hinzuzufügen! P1510536P1510504P1510487WATERMELON GARDEN
Zutaten: 2 große Scheiben Wassermelone, Basilikumzweig, halbe Zitrone, 2 cl Holunderblütensirup, Mineralwasser. So geht’s: Melone klein stampfen und mit gehacktem Basilikum, Zitronensaft und Holunderblütensirup in einem Shaker kräftig schütteln. In ein Glas abseihen und mit Sprudelwasser aufgießen.P1510515P1510561fernsehturmP1510527JERRY BERRY
Zutaten: Handvoll Him- und Blaubeeren, halbe Limette, 1 Zweig Minze, 1 TL weißen Rohzucker, Ginger Ale. So geht’s: Limette in Spalten scheiden, mit Beeren, Rohzucker und Minze klein stampfen. Eis dazugeben und mit Ginger Ale aufgießen.

P1680871

Über den Dächern: Riga Terrace

Es ist fast schon zu einem Ritual geworden: Jedes Mal wenn ich in meine Heimatstadt Riga zurückkehre, gehe ich hoch auf die Terrace Riga, eine Dachterrasse auf der 8. Etage des Einkaufszentrums Galleria Riga (10 Min. von der Altstadt), um den Sonnenutergang zu sehen. Natürlich gäbe es in der Stadt auch höhere Plätze dafür, z.B. die Skyline Bar in der 26. Etage des Hotels Radisson Blue (auch auf den Fotos). Da Riga aber nicht zu den höchsten Städten der Welt gehört, finde ich, dass Terrace Riga vollkommen ausreicht. Ich gehe nie bevor es ganz dunkel wird und die Kellner anfangen Decken auszuteilen. Denn jede Minute färbt sich der Himmel hier im hohen Norden in eine ganz neue Farbe. Eine andere Sache, die ich an dieser Dachterrasse sehr schätze: es gibt immer Tische. Mit 4 Bars und 600 Plätzen ist Terrace Riga die größte im Baltikum. Man braucht also nicht zu reservieren!P1680803P1680918P1680855P1680812P1680869P1680891P1680861P16809461085465_10151551895212097_1350851708_nP1680952P1680965P16809281147951_10151551891917097_84711319_nP1680978Flüge nach Riga gibt´s bei airBaltic.