Tag Archives: indian ocean

P1920219

Alone at Robinson Club Maldives

Friends often ask me if I´m still nervous when I´m travelling or if it has already become a routine. I AM nervous every single minute and I think it is one of the most important things about travelling. And if I´m not excited enough I just go and get 3 coffees and my heart´s bumping again. Easy like that. Well this time I was extra nervous without having a single coffee. I was travelling alone for the first time. To a tiny island where everybody comes with it’s favorite company. There are also a couple of families and singles staying at the Robinson Club Maldives, but most of the guests are honeymooners. Or at least people who aim to kiss the whole day. I was not that sad about (not) kissing, it was more like: “Ok, who is gonna take the typical Inna posing pictures then?” (at least I´m honest). And you know what: I never had so many posing pictures like after staying a couple of days at THIS place!P1910683P1910667P1920389P1910672P1920416P1920148P1920414P1920364P1920404P1910660You have a choice of either staying at the water bungalow (with a glass bottom near your bed, a huge terrace and some stairs right into the water) or – if you prefer sand on your feet- a beach or a garden bungalow. I have some pictures of a beach bungalow on my last post.P1910636P1910687P1910713P1910982P1910992P1920004First day was all about exploring the island. Our island Funamadua was only 450×240 m and you could walk around it in 20 minutes. When thinking about the Maldives I always had these amazing pictures from above on my mind: just an island, some water bungalows and nothing around it. So I prefered flying around it with a parasail fixed on a boat for the first impression. It´s really a good way to take some pictures to show off. Make sure you are flying between 10 a.m. and 3 p.m. on a clear day, otherwise the colours won´t look that bright.DSCN0427P1910776DSCN0452P1910898P1910948P1910804P1910921P1910874Another cool thing about flying over the island was the only possibility to get to see the 240 sqm presidential suite at the end of the water bungalows. Hey there, can I land in your pool?P1910700The restaurant always offered a huge international buffet but they also had a local corner with a maledivian cook explaining you what it is and how to prepare it. The Robinson island has it´s own vegetable and herbs garden, a bakery and they produce drinking water by filtering the water from the Indian Ocean (so the food container only has to come once in two weeks). This is how they manage to save 400.000 plastic bottles per year. I don´t want to sound like a teacher, but these things are important since every island of the Maldives is located only one meter about the sea level and it keeps rising every year. Once a week the crew shows you around and explains how the island “works”, in case you are interested….P1910325P1920303P1910340P1910431If you are staying at the beach bungalow, you always have a little beach just for yourself. No building on an island is allowed to be higher than the highest palm. You can find the fruits everywhere in the sand.P1920360P1910516P1920173P1920158P1920199After only a single day I felt like a biologist knowing every tree and every flower (and every hammock!!!) on this island. And always meeting some new people during my expedition.P1920436P1920441P1920049There are two perfect places to enjoy the sunset on the Robinson island. The first one you see on this picture, the second one by the end of the post.P1920056P1910492P1920077P1910258P1910525P1910609P1910600P1910531I was lucky enough to arrive at the day of the captains dinner (always on fridays), so all the stuff was dressed up as a sailing crew and the guests were asked to come in white. The funny thing about knowing so many people by the end of the day was that the party felt like hanging around with friends and nobody had to do the washing up haha.P1910554P1910559P1910587What I already learned as a kid: Always make friends with the ice cream guys (yep, this ship is made of ice cream). But I´m kinda out of training: they didn´t want to deliver it to my room…P1910623During the night you can watch little baby sharks coming really close to the island.P1910420P1920340At the second day I finally tried out the water. No comments about it, hate people always writing about how blue the ocean is. I mean it´s obvious, you can see it on the picture. But it was really warm (between 27-28 degrees), so you could stay there for hours.P1920297Why don´t I look sexy even though I´m trying? This tree was full of spikes. So I rather felt like a yogi man without a matcha tea than a relaxed beach girl. P1920162P1920203P1910348P1920219P1920232P1920264P1910473This day might look really lazy to you but I was diving and snorkling between the posing and I will show you the pictures on the next post. I got a new underwater cam for my birthday and I was very excited to finally present it to the sharks.P1910156This is the second sunset place I was talking about: the Sundowner Bar with a DJ playing some house chill out music. I´m not too romantic or something but this place was really WOOOW.P1910221P1920130P1910232P1910308P1910275Thank you, Robinson Club Maldives, for having me. Thanks to the amazing crew, there are so many stories I would love to tell but I know they gonna kill me haha (“what happens on the Robinson island, stays on the Robinson island”).

To talk about the prices: One week All Inclusive starts from 2299 euros/per person (including the flight). I was flying with Turkish Airlines via Istanbul and I can highly recommend this airline. They got voted for the best european airline for the third time last year and it´s totally true. Economy so feels like business with them.

P1820596

Shanti Maurice: Fish Shack

I don´t really believe in all these top tens or top somethings. The worst ones are the “things to see/do/smoke before you die”-tops. But sometimes they do give you some really good suggestions. The “Fish Shack” in the Shanti Maurice Resort (South of Mauritius) got voted under the top ten world´s best beach bars. I discovered it by walking through the resort after a giant breakfast and didn´t even know it was so famous. It first looked more like a wedding location to me. But by night it turned into something really magic…P1820955P1820662P1820889P1820897P1830016P1820907P1830025P1820904P1820927P1820961P1820979This is how the “Fish Shack” looks during the day… Pretty enough for fooling around.P1820969P1820978P1820981P1830043P1830194P1820251The “Fish Shack” opens when the sun sets. You walk a long path lightened by some torches and when you start thinking you got lost some white tents and wooden ships full of food appear. It all looks really surreal, like an oasis in the middle of the desert, but then you hear the waves and they remind you of where you are. The good thing about this beach bar (which actually is more a grill restaurant): everybody can book a dinner there, no need to be a guest of the resort. They put on the grill what they caught in the morning (but there are always lobster, shrimps, marlin) or what they got from the market the day before (the marinades are to die for). But even if it just was a burger and a beer: the atmosphere beats everything!P1820596P1820458P1820397P1820441P1820586P1820431shantibarP1820582

P1900860

Flying over the Maldives

Some attractions start before you even get there. So was my trip to the Maldives last week. I was on the plane approaching the islands (there are 1196 of them) after a loooong flight via Istanbul with Turkish Airlines, looked out of the window and was just: Wow. Doesn´t matter what is expecting me on the next few days, this view has already been worth the whole trip. The stewardesses were not strict at all and let me switch seats during the landing all the time, so I could take some nice shots I would like to share with you. P1900751P1900772P1900796P1900815P1900837P1900827P1900860 - Arbeitskopie 2P1900860P1900887P1900892P1900869P1900897We landed near Malé. It is the capital with the biggest population per qm (75000 inhabitans on 5,8 qkm) of the world. You will recognize this island from the plane as soon as you see it because it doesn´t fit into the landscape at all. The are boats going to Malé and other near islands on the opposite side of the airport exit but I had to take another domestic flight of 1,5 hours to get to “my island”. The Robinson Club Maldives is located near the island of Kaadedhdhoo, which is 400 km far away from Malé (even Sri Lanka is closer). And for the first time of my life I was happy about an extra flight – because it meant even more air pictures for me!P1900918P1900931P1910069P1900943P1900987P1910019P1910063P1910060P1910070P1910074P1910079Another 30 min on a boat and I was finally there. In my princess beach bungalow with my princess bed and my princess bathroom – located in the garden and all open.P1910109P1910115P1910118P1910117P1910124P1910128I took some minutes to watch the sunset from “my beach” and then had a shower under the stars. Not too bad for the first day almost spent on the plane…

P1770867

Kitesurfing at St Regis Mauritius Resort

Talking about holidays in the Indian Ocean, a road trip is probably not the first thing that comes to your mind. But in comparison to the other two honeymoon islands the Maldives and the Seychelles, Mauritius is the most suitable for just picking a car, driving around and stopping at the beaches or places you like. Why? First of all Mauritius consists of one large island and it´s landscape and vegetation change a lot due to the mountains and different winds. You can´t really check the weather forecast for the whole island. The North is normally minimum 5 degrees warmer and much calmer than the South. We started our road trip in the South as it is well known as a perfect watersports spot and I wanted to take some kitesurfing lessons. The only national park of the country Black River Gorges and the highest mountain Black River Peak (828 meter) are also located here. You can climb it up easily in a couple of hours, get an amazing view all over the island and safe the money (450 euro) for the heli-flight. So my plan was: work and sports first, then the relaxation! But already from above it didn´t look like work at all…P1770721P1770736P1770734P1770744Even after a 12 hour flight (from Berlin via Paris with Air France) I still had enough energy to jump out of the car every second and take a picture. Poor driver… P1770784P1770776P1770790After 30 minutes we finally arrived at St Regis Mauritius Resort and found out there was actually no lobby. The idea behind it is to make guests feel like they come back home. Your buttler offers you a welcome drink and brings you directly to your villa (almost like your Mom) and looking at the infinity waterfalls at the entrance indeed reminded me of my apartment in Berlin…P1770797P1770817P1770930P1770832P1770829P1790452P1770805P1770835The thing I loved most about the villas was the bathroom (surprise, surprise!). The fact they have two huge wash bawls makes it easier for couples to stay a couple even after their holidays. And I could see the ocean while brushing my teeth and didn´t have to look into the mirrow which was also a big plus especially in the mornings. P1790206P1770861P1770867P1790267P1770908P1780493P1770909The South is told to be the windy part of Mauritius, but as St Regis is hidden behind the mountain of Le Morne Brabant (556 meters) you can only feel a light breeze on the beach. Le Morne Brabant is on the UNESCO World Heritage List since 2008 because of it´s sad history. In the early 19th century it used to be a refuge for runaway slaves. After the abolition of slavery in 1835 a police expedition traveled there to inform the slaves that they had been freed. Many of them misunderstood the message and jumped from the rock. P1780009P1780069P1790349P1770993P1780120P1780043P1780104P1780081The hotel has six restaurants and if you book half-board you can have dinner in three of them without paying extra (Floating Market, The Boathouse Bar & Grill und Le Manoir Dining Room). On the first evening we were just walking along the beach watching the sunset and at the end we ran into Simply India, the signature restaurant of St Regis with the Indian star cook Atul Kochhar. P1780140P1780143P1780174P1780131P1780181But since I was the only who one liked Indian food we had to switch to Le Manoir Dining Room which offered French-Mauritian fusion cuisine (in the picture above: mauritian chilli cake, crusted red tuna, fresh coconut, caper, tomato). In the picture below the same restaurant during the breakfast.P1780341P1780611P1780738P1790208P1780352P1790431P1780574P1790213P1790440P1780550P1780524P1780553P1780531On the second day of our stay my kitesurfing lessons started. St Regis has the first luxury kitesurfing school in the world: Club Mistral Prestige. Your teacher drives you to a windy spot few minutes away from the hotel and during the lessons he all belongs to you. After fife days you can do it. I only had two days to practice but at the end I was able to steer the kite and make it pull me through the water, which was already a great experience. This spot is really perfect for beginners: the water stays flat for a long time and the wind is stable. The pros normally try to catch the famous One-Eye-Wave a bit further out.P1770799P1790236The hotel had a library with some serious 1000 pages books as you can see…P1790254and their own cinema called La Palme D`Or where you could either watch one of the three movies they showed per day o just book it for yourself (popcorn indluded)…P1780607P1780579This ist the Boathouse Bar&Grill restaurant at night. The cool thing about it: you could just walk down to the beach with one of your courses and have it there if you liked.P1790372P1770960P1790319P1780243P1780444P1780241On the last day I finally had some time to walk around and test the water. And to be honest I could hardly imagine the beaches in the North were supposed to be even better…P1780442P1780411P1780356P1780426P1780372P1790447P1790384P1780319P1790414_2P1780203P1780679P1790367P1780674P1780701P1780708P1790442P1780716On the last evening we decided to try out  The Floating Market which turned out to be my favorite one among all restaurants. It was located on the water and the spaces were connected by bridges. That´s what we had: lemongrass crab cake, roasted spiced duck breast with baby vegetables and the best desert on planet (because it is actually fife deserts): the lolly-pop mix.

Tag Archives: indian ocean

P1920219

Allein im Robinson Club Maldives

Freunde fragen mich oft, ob ich überhaupt noch aufgeregt bin, so oft wie ich verreise. Die Antwort: Jede Sekunde und auf jeder einzelnen Reise. Und wenn ich‘s mal nicht bin, hole ich mir drei Kaffee und schon habe ich wieder Herzklopfen – so einfach ist es. Jedenfalls war ich bei meinem letzten Trip ganz besonders aufgeregt, denn ich war zum ersten Mal in meinem Leben allein verreist. Und das an einen Ort, wo alle in Begleitung von ihren Lieblingsmenschen kommen. Die meisten Gäste im  Robinson Club Maldives sind nämlich Honeymooner oder zumindest Menschen, die vor haben, den ganzen Urlaub lang rumzuknutschen. Ich war nicht so sehr besorgt wegen des (Nicht-)Knutschens, sondern mich viel mehr gefragt, wer denn die ganzen typischen Inna-Posing-Fotos machen soll (zumindest bin ich ehrlich)… Und paradoxerweise hatte ich noch nie sooo viele Posing-Fotos wie am Ende von DIESER Reise!P1910683P1910667P1920389P1910672P1920416P1920148P1920414P1920364P1920404P1910660Man hat die Wahl zwischen einem Wasser-Bungalow (mit Glasboden neben dem Bett, riesiger Terrasse und einer Treppe direkt ins Wasser) oder einem Strand- oder Garten-Bungalow (für alle, die Sand an den Füßen lieben). Ich hatte ein paar Bilder von einem Strand-Bungalow auf meinem letzten Post. Und habe es geliebt wegen des Draußen-Badezimmers.P1910636P1910687P1910713P1910982P1910992P1920004Am ersten Tag wollte ich erstmal die Insel kennenlernen, was bei einer Größe von 450×240 Metern nicht all zu viel Zeit in Anspruch nahm. In 20 Minuten war man einmal rum. Bei den Malediven hatte ich aber immer diese tollen Aufnahmen von oben im Kopf: eine Insel mitten im Nichts und ein paar Wasservillen. Der beste Weg, um auch solche Angeberfotos zu machen, ist mit einem Parasail zu fliegen. Ich habe sogar meine normale Kamera mitnehmen können, denn man startet und landet auf einem Boot und wird nicht nass. Achtet darauf, dass ihr zwischen 10 und 15 Uhr an einem klaren Tag fliegt, dann werden die Farben am schönsten. Und dass die Fußnägeln immer schön lackiert sind. So könnt Ihr beim Fotozeigen immer so tun, als ob Ihr nur den neuen Nagellack präsentieren möchtet und dann ganz beiläufig: “Ach übrigens, das dahinter war unsere Insel”!DSCN0427P1910776DSCN0452P1910898P1910948P1910804P1910921P1910874Beim Fliegen hatte man auch die einzigartige Möglichkeit einen Blick auf die Präsidenten-Suite am Ende der Wasservillen zu werfen. Am liebsten wäre ich gleich in ihrem Pool gelandet. Aber die Drinks waren noch nicht kalt…P1910700Das Restaurant des Robinson Clubs hatte immer ein riesiges internationales Buffet, aber eben auch eine Ecke mit lokalen Spezialitäten und einem einheimischen Koch, der mit Begeisterung in aller Ausführlichkeit erklärte, was das ist und wie man es macht und zu welchem Anlass man es isst und gegen welche Krankheiten es hilft. Die Insel hat einen eigenen Gemüse- und Kräutergarten, eine Bäckerei und eine Filteranlage, um aus Meereswasser Trinkwasser zu machen. So muss der Essenscontainer nur einmal in zwei Wochen kommen und man spart 400.000 Plastikflaschen jährlich. Ich will jetzt nicht wie eine Lehrerin klingen, aber ich fand es beeindruckend, wie sich so eine kleine Insel selbst versorgen kann. Zumal jede Insel der Malediven nur einen Meter über dem Meeresspiegel liegt und der steigt ständig…P1910325P1920303P1910340P1910431Wer in einem Strand-Bungalow wohnt, hat immer einen kleinen eigenen Strandbereich mit zwei Liegen. Kein Gebäude auf der Insel darf höher gebaut sein als die höchste Palme. Das da unten sind ihre Früchte.P1920360P1910516P1920173P1920158P1920199Nach nur einem Tag habe ich mich wie ein Biologe gefühlt und kannte jeden Baum, jede Blume und jede Hängematte der Insel. Und lernte auf meiner Expeditionstour immer mehr Leute und Hobbyfotografen kennen. P1920436P1920441P1920049Auf der Insel gibt es zwei perfekte Orte für den Sonnenuntergang. Einen seht Ihr hier, den zweiten am Ende.P1920056P1910492P1920077P1910258P1910525P1910609P1910600P1910531Partys und ich ziehen uns magisch an und am Abend meines Ankunftstages gab es – Überraschung – eine Party. Und zwar den Captains Dinner, bei dem die ganze Crew sich als Matrosen verkleidet und alle Gäste in Weiß kommen müssen. Am Ende des Tages kannte ich bereits so viele Leute, dass es sich wie eine Feier unter Freunden anfühlte, nur dass keiner am Ende abwaschen musste…P1910554P1910559P1910587Was ich schon als Kind gelernt habe: Freunde dich immer mit den Eiscreme-Jungs an (Jaaa, das Robinson-Schiff war aus Eis!). Ich muss aber etwas außer Übung sein: Sie wollten es mir nicht aufs Zimmer liefern…P1910623Abends sah man immer Baby-Haie, die ganz nah an die Insel kamen. P1910420P1920340Am zweiten Tag konnte ich dann endlich das Wasser testen. Es ist das ganze Jahr über ca. 27 Grad warm und man kann stundenlang drin sitzen. P1920297Warum ich nicht sexy aussehe obwohl ich mir doch so viel Mühe gebe? Der Baum war voller Stacheln und ich fühlte mich eher wie Yogi-Mann ohne Matcha-Tee als ein cooles Strandbabe.P1920162P1920203P1910348P1920219P1920232P1920264Dieser Tag mag vielleicht etwas faul aussehen, aber zwischen all dem Posieren war ich noch schnorcheln und tauchen. Ich habe nämlich eine neue Unterwasserkamera zum Geburtstag bekommen und konnte es kaum abwarten, sie endlich den Haien zu präsentieren. P1910156Das ist der zweite perfekte Sonnenuntergangs-Ort: die Sundowner Bar mit DJ, der jeden Abend Chill Out Musik auflegt. Ich bin jetzt keine Sonnenuntergangs-WOWer, aber dieser Ort war einfach nur WOW.P1910221P1920130P1910232P1910308P1910275Ein besonderes Dankeschön an die verrückte Crew von Robinson Club Maldives für die tolle Zeit! Es gibt so viele Geschichten, die ich gerne erzählen würde, aber was auf einer Robinson-Insel passiert… Lest hier meine Geschichte über die Malediven in der BZ am Sonntag. Eine Woche im Club mit Vollpension inkl. Flug kostet ab 2299 Euro pro Person. Ich bin mit Turkish Airlines geflogen und bin seitdem ein Fan. Economy fühlt sich hier an wie Business. Und es gibt Lipgloss für alle!

P1820596

Shanti Maurice: Fish Shack

Tops finde ich blöd, also nicht die zum Anziehen, sondern die mit 1,2,3… Und die Top 1 der blödesten Tops ist immer noch für alle “Bevor-man-stirbt”-Tops reserviert. Das “Fish Shack” im Shanti Maurice Resort (Süden von Mauritius) gehört zwar nicht zu den Orten, die man gesehen haben muss, bevor man stirbt, wurde aber zu den zehn besten Strandbars weltweit gewählt. Aber es ist trotzdem gut dort. Ich wusste zunächst nichts von diesem Ruhm und habe das “Fish Shack” beim morgendlichen Spaziergang eher zufällig entdeckt. P1820955P1820662Nach diesem kleinen Strandfrühstück fand ich, dass eine ausgiebige Resorterkundung in einem weiten Kleid (das Frauen liebevoll “Babydoll” und Männer enttäuscht “Kartoffelsack” nennen) genau das Richtige sei…P1820889P1820897P1830016P1820907P1830025P1820904P1820927P1820961P1820979Tadaaa: So sieht das “Fish Shack” am Tag aus. Etwas unspektakulär, eher wie eine Trauungslocation, für ein paar Blödsinn-Fotos hat´s aber trotzdem gereicht… Am Abend dann ein völlig anderes Bild.P1820969P1820978P1820981P1830043P1830194P1820251Erst wenn die Sonne untergeht, macht die Strandbar (die eigentlich ein Grill-Restaurant ist) auf. Man läuft und läuft auf einem langen Sandweg, rechts und links nur mit Fackeln beleuchtet und fast wenn man schon glaubt, man hätte sich verlaufen, zeichnen sich weiße Betten, Grillflammen und mit Essen belegte Boote ab. Und es fühlt sich an wie eine Oase mitten in der Wüste, wenn nur das Klatschen der Wellen nicht wäre. Da ist der Name “Fish Shack” (heißt übersetzt Fisch-Baracke) leicht untertrieben… Auf den Grill kommt, was die Fischer morgens gefangen haben (aber immer Hummer, Shrimps und Marlin). Das Gute: Selbst wenn man nicht im Shanti Maurice bleibt, kann man dort abends einen Tisch/Bett/Bank buchen. P1820596P1820458P1820397P1820441P1820586P1820431shantibarP1820582

P1900860

Über den Malediven

Manche Sehenswürdigkeiten beginnen, bevor man überhaupt am Urlaubsort angekommen ist. Bei meinem Flug auf die Malediven (1196 Inseln) letzte Woche dachte ich nur: Wow, alleine für diese Aussicht hat sich der Tomatensaft von Turkish Airlines schon gelohnt. Zum Glück waren die Stewardessen nicht so streng und ich durfte selbst bei Landung von Fenster zu Fenster hüpfen und Fotos machen.P1900751P1900772P1900796P1900815P1900837P1900827P1900860 - Arbeitskopie 2P1900860P1900887P1900892P1900869P1900897Man landet neben Malé und wie es schon aus dem Flieger schnell deutlich wird, ist sie die am dichtesten besiedelte Hauptstadt der Welt (75000 Einwohner auf 5,8 Quadratkilometern). Gegenüber dem Flughafen-Ausgang ist auch gleich der Bootssteg für Fahrten nach Malé und die benachbarten Urlaubs-Inseln. Ich musste aber noch einen Inlandsflug nach Kaadedhdhoo nehmen. “Meine Insel”, der Robinson Club Malediven, ist nämlich weiter von Malé entfernt (ca. 400 Kilometer) als Sri Lanka. Der nette Nebeneffekt: mehr Fotos. Und eine zusätzliche Sightseeing-Tour, die mit dem Helikopter sonst viel Geld kostet. P1900918P1900931P1910069P1900943P1900987P1910019P1910063P1910060P1910070P1910074P1910079Nach weiteren 30 Minuten Bootsfahrt war ich endlich da: In meinem Strand-Bungalow mit meinem Prinzessinnen-Bett und meinem Prinzessinnen-Bad mitten im Garten. P1910109P1910115P1910118P1910117P1910124P1910128Noch schnell den hundertsten Sonnenuntergang fotografieren (was soll ich machen…) und dann unter dem Sternehimmel duschen. So fühlt sich also Liebe an, die an einem beschlagenen Flugzeug-Fenster beginnt…

P1770867

Kitesurfen im St Regis Mauritius

Ein Roadtrip auf Mauritius ist vielleicht nicht das, was einem als Erstes einfällt, wenn man an den Urlaub im Indischen Ozean denkt. Aber im Vergleich zu den beiden anderen klassischen Knutsch-Inselgruppen den Malediven und den Seychellen, sollte man Mauritius auf jeden Fall einmal umfahren haben. Denn zum einen besteht die Insel aus einer großen Hauptinsel und zum anderen sieht´s an jeder Küste total unterschiedlich aus. Der Roadtrip kann (ohne Stopps) einen Tag dauern, bei mir waren es zehn. Die ersten vier Tage verbrachten wir im schroffen bergigen Süden, wegen des stetigen Windes perfekt für Wassersportler und mit dem einzigen Nationalpark der Insel (Black River Gorges) und dem höchsten Berg Black River Peak (828 Meter) auch cool zum Hiken (nicht zu anstrengend und man spart sich bei der Aussicht den 450 Euro teuren Heli-Flug). Für die schöneren windgeschützten Strände ist dagegen eher der Norden und der Osten bekannt, wo es immer ca. vier Grad wärmer ist (auch das Wasser!) und viel weniger regnet. Also war der Plan: Zuerst die Arbeit, dann das Vergnügen. Aber schon beim Anflug habe ich schnell festgestellt, dass Arbeit irgendwie anders aussieht…P1770721P1770736P1770734P1770744Auch nach über zwölf Stunden Flug (von Berlin via Paris mit Air France) hatte ich noch Kraft genug unseren Fahrer vom Hotel-Pick-Up-Service alle fünf Minuten anzubetteln, für ein Foto anzuhalten. Und dann hat er noch den Fehler gemacht, mir den Tipp zu geben, von wo man einen besseren Ausblick hat…P1770784P1770776P1770790So was wie eine Lobby gibt es im St Regis Mauritius Resort nicht. Die Idee dahinter ist, dass man sich wie zu Hause und nicht wie im Hotel fühlt und sofort vom Buttler auf seine Villa begleitet wird. Und da jeder zu Hause einen Infinity-Brunnen hat, ist das oben so etwas wie der Eingangsbereich.P1770797P1770817P1770930P1770832P1770829P1790452P1770805P1770835Man munkelt, dass das St Regis Mauritus (eröffnet Anfang des Jahres) das zweite Hotel der Welt mit sieben Sternen (nach Burj Al Arab in Dubai) werden soll. Jeder Gast hat seinen eigenen Buttler, es gibt sechs Restaurants, riesiges Spa, eine Bibliothek, ein Privatkino, einen Tennisplatz und DIESES Bad! Die Zimmer sind so geschnitten, dass man selbst beim Zähneputzen oder aus der Dusche aufs Meer guckt. Und ein zweites Waschbecken ist ja auch immer sehr willkommen, wenn man nicht geschieden wieder auschecken möchte…P1790206P1770861P1770867P1790267P1770908P1780493P1770909Obwohl der Süden als windig gilt, steht das St Regis geschützt am Fuße des Le Morne Brabant. Von dort oben sieht man auch die beeindruckende Lagune, die auf jedem Reiseführer abgedruckt ist. Der 556 Meter hohe Berg ist wegen seiner traurigen Geschichte seit 2008 UNESCO-Weltkulturerbe. Während des 18. und frühen 19. Jahrhundert versteckten sich in seinen Klippen viele Sklaven. Als die Sklaverei abgeschafft wurde und sich eine Polizeiexpedition auf den Weg machte, um die gute Nachricht zu verkünden, fühlten sich viele Männer ertappt uns sprangen die Klippen runter. Deshalb ist Le Morne Brabant heute geschichtlich der wichtigste Berg von Mauritius – auch wenn nicht mit so vielen Transformationen wie die anderen… Das Essen oben ist übrigens die Seafood-Platte im Restaurant Nummer 1: The Boathouse Bar & Grill, wo es Mittags immer Lunch gibt.P1780009P1780069P1790349P1770993P1780120P1780043P1780104P1780081Wenn man Halbpension bucht, kann man in drei der sechs Restaurants ohne Zuzahlung zu Abend essen (Floating Market, The Boathouse Bar & Grill und Le Manoir Dining Room). Nach einem obligatorischen Erster-Tag-Strandspaziergang und dem beruhigten Abchecken von Nachbarhotels, landeten wir zuerst im Simply India, dem Signature-Restaurant von St Regis mit dem indischen Promi-Sternekoch Atul Kochhar. P1780140P1780143P1780174P1780131P1780181Da ich aber die einzige bin, die indisch mag, mussten wir ziemlich schnell weiter in Le Manoir Dining Room mit französisch-mauritischen Fusionsküche (hier: mauritian chilli cake, crusted red tuna, fresh coconut, caper, tomato). Auf dem unteren Bild das gleiche Restaurant morgens beim Frühstück.P1780341P1780611P1780738P1790208P1780352P1790431P1780574P1790213P1790440P1780550P1780524P1780553P1780531Am zweiten Tag fing mein Kitesurf-Unterricht an. St Regis hat die erste Luxus-Kitesurfschule der Welt: Club Mistral Prestige.  Der Lehrer fährt einen an einen windigeren ein paar Minuten entfernten Strand. Nach fünf Tagen Einzelunterricht sollte man es können. Bei mir muss man immer weitere fünf drauf rechnen. Da ich aber nur zwei Tage lang Zeit hatte, hat es mir schon gereicht, mich vom Kite einfach durchs Wasser ziehen zu lassen. Es bleibt sehr lange flach und der Wind ist meistens stabil – was perfekt für Anfänger ist. Die Profis gehen eher an die berühmte One-Eye-Wave etwas weiter draußen…P1770799P1790236Die Bibliothek hatte neben den vielen National-Geographic-Bilderbändern eine weitere überlebenswichtige Lektüre: die UK-Grazia!!!P1790254Im Kino La Palme D`Or gibt es drei mal am Tag Vorführungen (mit Popcorn!) oder man mietet es exklusiv. Die Sitze kann man nämlich komplett horizontal stellen…P1780607P1780579Das Schöne an dem The Boathouse Bar&Grill am Abend ist, dass man irgendwann mit seinem Dessert einfach runter an den Strand gehen kann.P1790372P1770960P1790319Damit auch die letzten Krebse wissen, mit wem sie es zu tun haben…P1780243P1780444P1780241Am letzten Tag hatte ich endlich ein bisschen Zeit für Strand&Pool&Posen und ehrlich gesagt konnte mir nicht so recht vostellen, was an den Stränden im Norden besser sein soll…P1780442P1780411P1780356P1780426P1780372P1790447P1790384P1780319P1790414_2P1780203P1780679P1790367P1780674P1780701P1780708P1790442P1780716Am Abend vor der Abreise war dann mein Lieblingsrestaurant (das Dessert bestand aus fünf Teilen) dran: The Floating Market. Was man auf den Fotos nicht sieht: das gesamte Restaurant steht auf dem Wasser und die einzelnen Räume sind durch Brücken verbunden. Auf den Bildern oben: lemongrass crab cake, roasted spiced duck breast mit baby vegetables und mein lolly-pop Nachtisch.

Lest hier meine Geschichte über Mauritius in der BZ am Sonntag.